McGraw Prize

The Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education annually recognizes outstanding individuals who have dedicated themselves to improving education in this country and whose accomplishments are making a difference today. Honorees are chosen by a distinguished panel of judges made up of thoughtful and influential members of the education community. Each winner receives a gift of $50,000 and a bronze sculpture. The Prize was established in 1988 to honor Mr. McGraw’s lifelong commitment to education, and to mark the Corporation’s 100th anniversary.

Past honorees include:

  • Sal Khan, founder of the Khan Academy;
  • former U.S. Secretary of Education Richard Riley;
  • the former U.S. Secretary of Education Rod Paige;
  • the Honorable James B. Hunt, Jr., former Governor of North Carolina;
  • James P. Comer, M.D., Maurice Falk Professor of Child Psychiatry, Yale University Child Study Center;
  • Barbara Bush, founder of the Barbara Bush Foundation for Family Literacy; and
  • Wendy Kopp, president and founder of Teach For America

Visit the Prize in Education Site